Lori Goetsch Professional Staff Award

The Lori Goetsch Professional Staff Award was renamed by the Friends of K-State Libraries in 2021 to honor Lori Goetsch upon her retirement as dean of K-State Libraries. The purpose of the award is to recognize exceptional contributions to K-State Libraries by non-tenure track professional staff. One recipient is honored with a plaque of recognition and an award of $1,000 sponsored by the Friends of the K-State Libraries.


The award is available to non-tenure track professionals with an appointment of .5 or greater at K-State Libraries. The award will recognize contributions made to K-State Libraries in the previous two academic years. Nominees must have a minimum of 3 continuous years of service. Award recipients are not eligible for the award more than once every 5 years.


Professional staff at K-State Libraries may be nominated based on one or more of the following areas of accomplishment. Criteria are based on the K-State President's Award of Excellence for Unclassified Professionals.

2022 Winner

Tom Misilo, systems administrator

"Tom has a talent for seeing the big picture and breaking down a project into simple and efficient solutions. One project that comes to mind is the call number display system, on over 1,000 shelving ranges, in Hale Library. Because of his innovation with developing a customized Excel template file, merged with the enormous database, we now have a newly renovated library, and you can find your book."


Previous winners

2021: Tara Marintzer

2020: Raymond Deiser

2019: Kathy Coleman

2018: Renee Gates and Kathryn Tablot

2017: Mary Bailey

2016: Julie Bell

2015: Darchelle Martin

2014: Janice Barrons

2013: Renee Gates

2012: Mary Bailey

2011: Harish Maringanti

2010: Rachel Crocker

2009: Roberta Johnson